Anyone got Max Orido's Magical Fuse?
10-27-2023, 10:02 AM (This post was last modified: 10-27-2023 10:07 AM by banpei.)
I recently came across a blog post where someone bought a box of Max Orido's magical fuses. These fuses cost about 120 euros and I was like why would you buy extremely expensive fuses? So I started to search for this product to find out why.

So I came across a couple of posts on an 86 forum and Reddit that all spoke positively about this. And then I found this video with Keiichi Tsuchiya and Max Orido:

It claims DK's car got an increase of 7hp by replacing the fuses with these "magical" ones and an additional 1hp by replacing the battery.

The "inventor" of the Magical Fuse claims it will remove any electrical resistance (because of old fuses) and electrical interference. By removing that, the ECU will perform better and you will have more spark. Now I'm not an electrical engineer, but I seriously wonder if there is much truth in this. From what I understand is that you use capacitors to remove electrical interference, which I don't see in these fuses.

I'm very sceptical about this product. What I miss in this video is why they didn't replace the fuses with an ordinary set of new fuses to make a proper comparison. Maybe DK's fuses were old and worn down, but replacing them with an ordinary set of fuses (cost 5 euros) would already bumped the engine output with 6hp. So what's the real gain then?

This product sounds very fishy and is probably just snake oil. I mean, Orido is a businessman and this is an excellent way to sell. So I was wondering does anybody have experience with these fuses? Should we buy such a box and conduct a proper comparison?

In case you are wondering, you can buy them here: https://130ryokohama.shop-pro.jp/?pid=160925380
RHDJapan sells them for the 86, but not the AE86. But we could probably ask them nicely to ship a box of them. Wink

1982 - TA60 Carina 4dr sedan - fun cruiser
1983 - AE86 Sprinter Trueno - import project