Which setup for drifting...?
02-24-2006, 09:37 PM
Hi… I’m quite new in this drifting world… I’ve owned my AE86 (A Zenki AE86 Levin i guess) for 2 months now and the summer is about to set in…

But I need some help for getting the car fit for the season 2007… The car is stock and needs some body work done and a paintjob… so that’s the first money spend… but I need to improve the car so that I can use it for drifting… the car should could be used for normal driving as well (U know driving to competitions, car shows, summer driving ect.)

I want some styling I thought of buying the ”Version Selected Toyota Corolla AE86 Levin Ver I Full Body kit” from http://www.driftfactory.com and the ”Origin Front Over Fender 20mm Toyota Corolla Levin AE86 84-87 ” and the same for the back fender for that wide look… and for holding the rims inside the fenders… The car does have the original spoiler on the back so I’ll just keep it…
Does anyone know if I can buy it cheaper somewhere else..?

I’ve thought of some different solutions for the engine…
An 4A-GZE block with my own top, a custom exhaust manifold with a Nissan turbo with a small compressor wheel for HP at low RPM. It all mounted with a MegaSquirt full programmed engine control. It should all be good for over 220 HP on the tires…
But is there a better NA solution to my HP problem…?

And witch suspension should I install…? Does you have and good solutions…?
My best guess is to make the back of the car as stiff as possible (Without breaking all the bolts) to loose some of the traction…

What rims and tires should I use…?

Should I change the front suspension to a kind so that I could adjust the camber quite agressive..?

And what should I do with the diff…? The car is std. mounted with LSD… but is it strong enough…?

Hope to get some good answers…! And I does not hope that I ask too many questions…

Thanx in advance…

/bm, Aarhus C, Denmark

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

Find all posts by this user
02-24-2006, 10:24 PM