Rotary AE86. Worth it?
05-13-2010, 04:00 AM
Rotary AE86. Worth it?
Bought a 1984 sr5 in rough condition. With TLC it will be a looker. But a few quick questions. The previous owner swapped a 12a rotary in it. I was thinking about pulling that and replacing it with a 13b single turbo. Is this a common swap? I have seen it done on youtube a lot and figured if i already had the trans and wanted more ass getting to the wheels i would buy a 13b. I would love to get a 4 AGE but im new to the vehicle and am not sure how much this kid mangled the OE motor mounting brackets. Suggestions and Comments welcome

I DO NOT WANT THIS TO BECOME A YELLING MATCH BETWEEN HARD CORE TOYOTA AND MAZDA PEOPLE...

I love toyotas but i believe the 13b engine is a good swap for me

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
05-13-2010, 08:20 AM
Rotary AE86. Worth it?
Edited the title a little and moved this to the Technical section :wink:

danielvanderwoude Wrote:looks like the nmwisima joke saved you in the end
[Image: AEU86 AE86 - Rotary AE86. Worth it?] http://www.jdmbits.com
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
05-13-2010, 08:54 AM
Rotary AE86. Worth it?
Hi, as a Mazda Rx7 Fc turbo driver i can tell you rotaries are absolutely awsome. Specialy when they're not broken. Most 13b's you'l find on the internet will require a overhaul pretty soon. The nasty thing with rotaries is that they run perfectly five minutes before a complete fail. So buying a rotary engine with nice compression and no nasty symptoms is absolutely no guarantee for a lasting engine. If by some miracle you are able to find a good engine then you will get 200 bhp / 265nm of rotary fun. Fun that will cost you lots and lots of fuel for they are legendary thirsty. Anything better then 8km on 1 liter gasoline will be hard to achieve and 4km/1 liter will be normal when you step on it. Tuning these engines for more power is pretty easy but will hurt reliability and fuel economy.

Good things:
Very smooth engine power