Heel Toe?
03-19-2008, 10:30 AM
Heel Toe?
Ok so I'm new to drifting and I don't understand what exactly does heel toe do?
Find all posts by this user
03-19-2008, 11:13 AM
Heel Toe?
heel toe is a technique where you use your toe's to brake and your heel to throttle at the same time. It allows you to change gears while breaking before a corner so you can accelerate while you're in the right gear once you exit the corner without loosing time and without the need to change gear at the wrong time.

Greetz,

Bastiaan "mux213" Olij

Moved down under, no more hachi Sad
03-19-2008, 11:25 AM
Heel Toe?
To double de-clutch a down-shift:

Depress Clutch.
Drop it into Neutral.
Release Clutch.
Rev Engine to a tad beyond what it will be at when you've released the gear you want to select.
Depress Clutch.
Slip into lower gear.
Release clutch.

If it's properly done, the change down should feel seamless and very smooth. Someone used to doing this can do it in roughly a split second - i.e. very quickly (Provided the engine can be blipped quickly enough).
You can use it to smoothly change down from say 5th to 3rd, without needing to use 4th in between.

Heel & toe is doing all the above whilst controlling braking at the same time.

Takes some practice at first, start with double declutching, then when you're perfect at doing fast synchronised downchanges, start using your right foot's toes to control braking, whilst using your heel to depress the throttle.

Heel & Toe means the car's weight is only transferred to the front once whilst braking (Each time you let off the brakes, the weight comes off the front suspension).

Personally, I do it always, when driving a manual car. It's become 2nd nature - I hate the new paddle shift transmissions that do this for you!

Hope this helps! Thumbs up!

Miguel

VISIT OUR NEW WEBSITES!!!!
A Tuner's Paradise
Automotive Art On Film
Dedication To Automotive Perfection

Japan Office Tel - (Calls charged at UK National Rate): 0207-193-3979.