4AGE camshafts (again)
12-09-2012, 11:18 PM
4AGE camshafts (again)
Hi,

My name is Alex and I own a 1989 Mk1 Mr2 with the 4AGE engine.

I am about to start the rebuilding process of my red top 4AGE out of my MR2 – apologies for being on this website and asking questions as I am not an AE86 owner, but many owners with my model do not replace the camshafts and when they do it’s either HKS or Toda.

I have got limited technical knowledge - I am rebuilding the engine, but regarding camshafts please treat me as stupid, I will not be offended!!

I am looking for an alternative camshaft manufacturer, as paying £350 per cam is just not in my budget.

I want to get all the necessary information sought and parts purchased before I start taking it apart as I don’t want to start and then wait for my parts to be delivered.

But firstly, I saw other people’s power outputs and thought I’d post mine on here.

This is when I had a fully rebuilt ‘race prepped’ engine bought from Rogue Motorsport, which sadly 40k miles later blew its head through block corrosion – it was then replaced 3 months later (due to paranoia) with an AE92 4AGE engine.

Spec:-
81.5mm pistons
Standard HG
No head work
Exhaust & induction filter

It was dyno’d at 107.6 WHP which was around 130 at the flywheel. This engine just felt so crisp under acceleration but my current engine is sluggish as hell and seems to have a TVIS problem. But I have since started a new job and bought a diesel due to commuting 500 miles a week so rebuilding this engine is my project for the winter!

My project outline
Aftermarket Camshafts (Cat Cams / TED Components) 264° maximum
Toda Adjustable Cam Gears – if necessary
81.5mm pistons
Head & Block skim
Cometic Metal Head Gasket
Iridium Plugs (already purchased)
Fidanza Flywheel (already purchased)
4 to 1 Header (where can I find one delivered to UK?)