rear oil seal
11-07-2006, 12:40 AM
rear oil seal
Hello, I'm new to the board and just got my first ae86 (1983 with an 84 4age) but it has a blown rear oil seal which needs to be replaced which I have never done before. After looking around at some manuals I am fearing the worst. So I am going to run over the rough idea and see what you guys think. First, I will need to drop the transmission. Second, will I need to pull the engine as well to get to this rear oil seal? While I'm in here doing all this does anyone have any recomendations of what else I could/should do while in there.
Find all posts by this user
11-07-2006, 06:47 PM
rear oil seal
You only need to take off the flywheel..it's a matter of unbolting some stuff after that.

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
11-07-2006, 08:49 PM
rear oil seal
Owh do go and take pictures when you do thisBig Grin

Sounds like one heck of a job to do as a first hachi repair challenge. Never done this one myself aswell. You make it sound so easy IvanWink

myember, if you have access to the right tools and the right environment these cars are easy to work on and from the sound of it. Whereabouts in the world are you? Might be a hachi enthousiast nearby that doesn't mind giving you a hand. I know from first hand experience these sorta jobs are easier when you have someone along thats worked on these cars before.

Greetz,

Bastiaan "mux213" Olij

Moved down under, no more hachi Sad
11-07-2006, 09:42 PM
rear oil seal
I replaced my rear oil seal when my previous engine was still out of the car.. it sits in it's own metal holder, that bolts to the engine and oilpan. You can take it out separately..just make sure you get a new gasket.
After that it's easy to replace it.. putting it back on is the tedious bit.
Getting the flywheel off can be a bit of a pain without some sort of special tool to hold it in place.

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
11-07-2006, 10:05 PM
rear oil seal