oil pressure high
09-27-2013, 07:54 PM
Post: #11
oil pressure high
No, not all stock senders are pressure switches. The switch is much smaller than a proper pressure sensor.
@Pack: that doesnt look quite right to me, the second contact is welded to the body, so I doubt it can switch any signal to ground, because it is permanently connected to ground via the engine block which it is screwed into.

Look for something like this:
http://www.ebay.de/itm/Oldruck-Geber-VDO...1e8037d328

Ebay germany is a good place to find stuff that wont kill you in shipping.. as long as they are willing to shop internationally... look for 'oeldruckgeber + warnkontakt'.
Just make sure the thread pitch is correct for a 4age, and the resistance + pressure range is correct for your gauge. You cant just combine any sensor with any gauge.

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-27-2013, 11:48 PM
Post: #12
oil pressure high
kawo Wrote:My next step will be connect back the stock sender to the stock cluster.
If you do this, and the stock gauge works, there is not really any need
for another oil pressure gauge on a standard car. Countless millions of
modern cars have only the warming light, and I have never seen anywhere
that not having the gauge causes a problem.

Of course, if your engine is highly modified, and your car is used for racing,
then you will want extra gauges to give early warning of low pressure or
high temperature Huh

Cheers... jondee86
Find all posts by this user
09-28-2013, 01:47 AM
Post: #13
oil pressure high
Ivan, that one you posted. It is a switch and sender unit at the same time?

Regards
Find all posts by this user
09-28-2013, 12:32 PM
Post: #14
oil pressure high
Yes, that is what 'warnkontakt' means: warning switch.
It switches around 2 bar oil pressure.
One post is 0-10 bar sensor output, the other post is for connecting a warning light.

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-28-2013, 01:41 PM
Post: #15
oil pressure high
Allright! Thanks!

Is there any specific gauge compatible with this VDO sensor?

The switch will work directly with the cluster right?

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
09-28-2013, 10:13 PM
Post: #16
oil pressure high
Pack, I just looked up the first sensor of the type I meant as an example.
You should really look up the correct thread pitch for your application and make sure you order a sensor with that thread type.
I'm guessing most of the regular VDO gauges will work with a sensor like this as long as the range is identical (so not 0-5 gauge with a 0-10 sensor or vice versa).
http://www.ebay.de/itm/VDO-Oldruckanzeig...3cd65e49b5

I might add that 0-5 bar would probably be an adequate sensor range to go for on most car engines.

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
09-29-2013, 12:06 PM
Post: #17
oil pressure high
Ivan141 Wrote:You should really look up the correct thread pitch for your application and make sure you order a sensor with that thread type.

That's secondary, the first thing to really look up is the correct ohms/resistance range of the VDO sensor for your gauge, then either get VDO's sensor or any other aftermarket sensor with the same resistance specs. [/b]
Find all posts by this user


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  High-beam warning lamp Mylesmck 4 1,147 07-21-2023 07:44 AM
Last Post: banpei
  Engine stress at high speeds gh0st 6 2,096 08-30-2022 07:11 PM
Last Post: Power_uP
  4AGE 16V engine overheat when at high speed chenfon 32 19,448 12-31-2020 06:39 AM
Last Post: chenfon
  Build your own adjustable fuel pressure regulator ;) oldeskewltoy 8 20,044 08-19-2018 12:08 PM
Last Post: AlexKTM
  Early EDM non-cat 4A-GE 16v Bluetop Fails emissions (high co) Rascal21 41 31,126 08-21-2016 04:51 PM
Last Post: ray

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | AEU86 | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication