Trueno Digital dash kph to mph
11-15-2018, 04:25 PM
Post: #1
Trueno Digital dash kph to mph
Greetings.

Should the AE86 I eventualy get come with a digital dash instead of an analogue one, how would i go about converting the displayed speed from KPH to MPH ?

Links would be helpfull.

Analogue dials would be easy enough, simply changing the dial face would be enough. But the digital one obviosly cant have that done.

Cheers
Find all posts by this user
11-16-2018, 10:57 PM
Post: #2
Trueno Digital dash kph to mph
You can't change the digital dash from kph to mph out of the box:
http://www.aeu86.org/forum/Thread-JDM-Di...h-question
The digital gauge cluster doesn't support a multi scale speedo like the Celica Supra MA61 did with a simple push button to change it. You would be able to change the gear on the speedo cable with a factor 0.62, but the speedo will still read km/h.
The fluerecent tube display does have the mph reading though, so with a little bit of fiddling in the electronics you would be able to put that right:
http://club4ag.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15561

About the analogue dials: you can swap it for a UK gauge cluster. It already has everything in mph and all the connections should be correct too.

1982 - TA60 Carina 4dr sedan - fun cruiser
1983 - AE86 Sprinter Trueno - import project
2013 - Honda Civic sport - daily driver
2004 - AEU86 dot ORG - daily domain

Support our forum, buy from the AEU86 shop:
[Image: AEU86 AE86 - Trueno Digital dash kph to mph]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
11-17-2018, 05:58 PM (This post was last modified: 11-17-2018 06:02 PM by Bojack.)
Post: #3
Trueno Digital dash kph to mph
(11-16-2018 10:57 PM)banpei Wrote:  You can't change the digital dash from kph to mph out of the box:
http://www.aeu86.org/forum/Thread-JDM-Di...h-question
The digital gauge cluster doesn't support a multi scale speedo like the Celica Supra MA61 did with a simple push button to change it. You would be able to change the gear on the speedo cable with a factor 0.62, but the speedo will still read km/h.
The fluerecent tube display does have the mph reading though, so with a little bit of fiddling in the electronics you would be able to put that right:
http://club4ag.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15561

About the analogue dials: you can swap it for a UK gauge cluster. It already has everything in mph and all the connections should be correct too.

Aye i was thinking it would be a converter of some kind.
Im not to concerned with the KPH/MPH indicator right of the bat, i can deal with that later down the line, but I do need a plan inplace to get the indicated speed in MPH.
Im gunna look around for a 0.62 changer then. Any recommendations ?

Again this is just incase the car i get has a Digi dash. Idealy ill be getting analgue, but im noting be picky.
Find all posts by this user
11-21-2018, 12:27 AM
Post: #4
Trueno Digital dash kph to mph
I never bothered lol. my 86 and my Glanza still read KMH in the UK
Find all posts by this user


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Custom Dash Cluster kazi 14 2,799 10-24-2017 09:05 PM
Last Post: kazi
  Dash Lights kazi 3 978 09-12-2017 10:04 PM
Last Post: kazi
  Dash lights not working. kazi 5 1,056 05-09-2017 12:31 PM
Last Post: Ivan141
  Digital Dash evfan42 174 142,880 09-11-2015 10:51 AM
Last Post: pack
  Electrical - Rear Screen Demist and Dash lights mad.matt 0 1,287 01-12-2015 01:15 PM
Last Post: mad.matt

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | AEU86 | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication