Stock Bigport Engine + ITB?s?!
07-18-2012, 02:10 PM
Hey there,

With some thinking my recent Trueno project is not becoming a "race car", i'm more into building a stance AE86 that allows me to drive it and enjoy the ar. Simple as that. Probably in the future i'll get something to drift hard!

So.... with all the options i have, i started out trying to find a easy way to make the engine look cool, and the question popped up almost immediately.

It's possible to have the 20V ITB setup in the 4AGE blue-top stock engine?
When i say stock engine, i'm referring the stock components of the engine itself....

That's pretty much my main question now!

Regards
Find all posts by this user
07-18-2012, 02:29 PM
Hello Mate i've done a load of research into this myself as it was the first engine mod I wanted to do.

I'm by no means an expert on this but from what I gathered you have to run the inlet manifold adapter for the throttle bodies and get a customisable ECU to change the ignition timing or something. I know this doesn't help much but I'm sure someone that is more clued up will tell you exactly what you need!

From what i looked at though this is not a cheap mod! mainly due to the ECU problem however doing this isn't just so you can run ITB's it opens up so many more routes for tuning!

Hope this helped a little!
07-18-2012, 02:38 PM
I'd say ITB's look and sound very cool but on stock internals they are pretty useless performance wise.
They will cost big money, you will have to change ECU, buy/make adapter and airbox and after all of that, you will see little or no performance advantage.

If you are planning further upgrades (cams, pistons, exhaust header) ITB's will get along very well with them. But i'd say they are far from mandatory, and really beside looks and sound, you don't gain much performance with them.

I've been through all this, speaking from personal experience.
07-18-2012, 03:41 PM
Hello there,