Shifting Weight
05-05-2006, 05:47 AM
Shifting Weight
hey guys.
im kinda new to the drifting scene, and i am having some problems with my 86 drift.
i can countersteer out of a drift ok and all, but going into one im lacking somethin. im thinkin that i need to shift the car weight more to the other side for outer force, but i cant get it to happen.
can ne 1 tell me how to better shift the car's weight?
thx
Find all posts by this user
05-05-2006, 07:27 AM
Shifting Weight
I'm by no means a drifter, but if you want to initiate your drift using weight shifting you'll have to practice your feint drifting (otherwise known as the scandinavian flick). Before turning into the corner first steer sharply in the opposite direction and back again. You should look up some Formula Drift vids, one of the club4AG drifters clearly uses the technique all the time (taka or hiro...dont know which one).

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
05-05-2006, 09:19 AM
Shifting Weight
i am total beginner and the most easy technique to initiate slide without handbrake is hard braking(weight transfer from rear to front) combined with shift lock a little after "weight is transfered".
05-05-2006, 09:34 AM
Shifting Weight
That'll work too, but is not too good for your tyres and driveline..

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
05-05-2006, 09:38 AM
Shifting Weight
Ivan141 Wrote:That'll work too, but is not too good for your tyres and driveline..

any kind of drifting is killing tyres.
yeah, shift lock is bad for driveline, but not SO much, when weight is transferred. i dont recommend to use shift lock without braking, sometimes people love to do that.
05-05-2006, 09:39 AM
Shifting Weight
Locking the tyres will wear them down flat in spots...much more so than any other drift method (except for the handbrake), I'd rather have more even tyre wear.

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
05-05-2006, 10:17 AM
Shifting Weight