Popular phrases explained
10-10-2004, 06:04 PM
I encounter different words and phrases regarding the AE86 when shopping for parts on ebay and club4ag. [u:5bc15abec0]Some [/u:5bc15abec0]of the below mentioned are unclear to me, as i am sure they are to many others.
If you know the meaning, please respond, or if you know other words, please post them here for future reference.
Please note that i personnally know most, but I thought that others might enjoy having them explained.

JDM
INITIAL D
OEM
ITB
ESPELIR
D1
MEGA SQUIRTERS
LSD
BIG PORT
SMALL PORT
BLUE TOP
RED TOP
Find all posts by this user
10-10-2004, 08:47 PM
JDM = Original Japanese parts, dunno the exact words, but they are parts that where sold in japan.

LSD - Limited Slip Differential

[Image: AEU86 AE86 - Popular phrases explained]
10-10-2004, 09:06 PM
I've always wondered what the D in Initial D stands for. Drift?Smile

I'm not very good at these short things, I know what most mean but I have no idea what the letters are forSmile

Greetz,

Bastiaan "mux213" Olij

Moved down under, no more hachi Sad
10-10-2004, 09:24 PM
JDM = Japanese Domestic Market, meaning as described above

OEM = Original Equipment Manufacturing, which means it's an original part, or from one of Toyota's official suppliers (NipponDenso for example)

D1 = Japanese variation on F1, with the D1 for drifting

Why motorsports? Because other sports require only one ball!
10-10-2004, 10:54 PM
ITB= Individual throttle bodies, like the intake of the 20v 4age.
ESPELIR= not an abbreviation, it's a spring manufacturer
MEGA SQUIRTERS = megasquirt, a diy engine management

The whole red top/blue top bigport/smallport story has been explained in great detail on club4ag amongst others.

FABRICA MI DIEM, PVNC!
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
10-11-2004, 08:48 AM
Red top

last 4age 16V build 1987 upto the end of 1991.

Its a 7 ribs stronger lower block