I think I should introduce myself as well...
08-20-2004, 09:06 AM
Hiya all!

I think I should introduce myself as well, since I'm the admin of the site. Anyway, let's get rolling:

My name (irl) is Art and I am a software developer as well. I develop for a well known Dutch ISP and do this site in my spare time.

If you ask why: well, it all started about 4 years ago. Somewhere late 2000 I downloaded some fansubbed anime which is not available as DVD in the US or Europe. Most of the time I just downloaded two or three episodes to see what the series is all about, but when I discovered Initial-D I was hooked. I downloaded the whole first stage (which was the only stage available back then) and watched it as a marathon. The next time I met Mux, I pointed him out to Initial-D and since then he got addicted to it as well. Wink

Since then I started being hooked on the Hachi-roku. I discovered that trueno.org was still available as a domain and immediately registered the name. Back then, the only thing on the webpage was an R-Type logo, which was a domain of my flatmate back then. At least I got the name. Another sidenote: I accidently mistyped the domainname back then, so I got stuck with tureno.org as well. Sad Later on (about one and a half year ago) I also registered hachi-roku.org. Smile

My AE86 obsession started to get bigger during the past four years. I even tried tuning the car in every car game available. Big Grin When I finally got my drivers license last year I was determined to buy an Hachi-roku. Unfortunately I did not have the money and bought a cheap car to be sure to have some wheels. But whenever I get the opportunity to buy an AE86 I would certainly do so.

Of course I know the shortcomings of the Hachi, and ofcourse the car is already overtwenty years old (at least the older models) and the price of the car has risen since then (not as bad as in the US) but the car is so tempting. Evil

1982 - TA60 Carina 4dr sedan - fun cruiser