Camber plates
10-22-2004, 11:33 AM
Camber plates
Ok the topic says it camber plates,

Seeing the use of camber angle in a car and the purpose that comes with it i think camber plates are useless on a AE86 the blue hachi racer from a friend of mine has everything we dream off but no camber plates he himself is a great mechanic (he has a blacktop in a TE71 now :-)

Finds the camber plates useless when i talked it over with a friend of mine who has 40 years of exp also preparing formula 3 cars etc he also says its pretty useless considering in a hachi you only camber the front.

What are your opinions on it????

Cars:
"99 Lexus IS200
"86 AE86 Kouki Panda Levin GT-Apex (restore project)
"84 AE86 Zenki Blue Levin (project racer)
Motorcycles:
"02 Yamaha R1
"02 Honda Hornet S
"08 BMW R1200GS
Find all posts by this user
10-22-2004, 11:43 AM
Camber plates
I'm no expert so I am probably going to say something stupid nowSmile

I think for racing around the circuit 'normaly' it has no use, to much unbalance front to back.

I think for drifting around a circuit it can be usefull for a lowered car since the rear wheels will brake traction anyways. That is, if I understand NoHachis remarks in other threads correctly.

Still the issue becomes a bit more complex because on our cars we have a solid axle. This means that no matter how much the geometry of our car changes, the wheels will always have full contact with the road. The only situation this doesn't happen is if we have 1 wheel in the air. So camber sounds pretty stupid on a solid axle.

On independent suspention like we have in the front, and other cars also have in the rear. Body role and shifting loads change the geometry of the suspention causing the angle at which the tire touches the ground to change. When this angle changes grip is reduced. So adding camber is one way to allow grip to remain by keeping the tire flat on the surface.