A German currently in Japan
10-13-2017, 05:47 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2017 04:49 PM by Hama86.)
Guddn'abend. Wave

My name is Mehmet and I greet you from Kanagawa. I came to Japan for a 12 month internship, I have served 6 months already and I bought an AE86. Yes, my plan is to take one home as an "Übersiedlungsgut" to save import costs. Also, I still have to decide if I want to stay here longer which may be possible. Nevertheless my hometown in Germany is Dortmund.

Funny story - in fact sad, not funny at all - I bought mine in August, but the dealer will get the car ready beginning of November. Luckily I could ask him to register the car on my name prior the 6 months to be eligible as import free item. It's ridiculous really, because I thought buying a used car would be like in Germany: pay&drive. Now I pay rent for an empty parking lot near the city center of Yokohama. Facepalm

I don't have much experience with mechanics but I am a student of Automotive Engineering. I guess this will be a good car to learn all this. I went the safe route and bought a restored, rust-free 3-door kouki panda Trueno.

UPDATE:
The first photos. I haven't done proper photos yet, just a temporary (not so legal but free) parking at Nitori (Japanese IKEA).

Nice to meet you, よろしくお願いします
Mehmet
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
10-13-2017, 08:07 PM
Welcome and enjoy your time over there. There are many things in Japan that are very different to Europe some good and some not so much Wink

AE86 ex-daily
10-14-2017, 05:30 AM
(10-13-2017 08:07 PM)Bean Wrote:  Welcome and enjoy your time over there. There are many things in Japan that are very different to Europe some good and some not so much Wink
Tell me about it Wink

Good is of course the cars. Bad however is owning and driving them. A 5 hour drive to Kyoto costs from 7k to 10k tolls (53-76€). Avoiding the toll roads raises the drive to 10h. Almost no free parking.